Beautiful chaos

I’ve been working for two months now and it’s been actually pretty great. I’m learning new things and meeting new people. This feels like a place I can stay for a good, long while (provided I pass the school!). It is, as is always the case with a new job, a bit intimidating sometimes but, overall, it’s good.

 

We have picked out the cabinets, carpets, tile, audio/visual hookups, and hardwood floors for the new house. It’s super exciting and I am so very happy with how it’s all going to look. Since it’s a new construction and we aren’t looking to close until March, they won’t break ground for another couple of months. Right now we’re saving money for new carpets for the house we’re in now, and starting to look around with an eye to how we’re going to stage the place. We’re going to put it up for sale in February, hopefully. I just can’t even begin to tell you how anxious I am that we can’t really get started doing that stuff yet. I can start packing a few boxes here and there, but the actual staging and carpet and all won’t come for at least another couple of months.

 

Our kitten is growing into a beautiful, super soft, little girl. She’s about 6 months old now. She isn’t much for being pet, but she likes to be around us. She has taken to a fuzzy blanket that I tend to wrap myself in while I’m on the couch, and kneads at it for comfort. The old man of the house (our older cat, Dasher), has taken to Hubby these days. I think he feels that I’ve betrayed him. Hubby has taken to him too though, and they’ve formed something of a testosterone alliance over on the other couch. And, miracles do happen! We discovered the wonders of a self-cleaning litter box! Somewhat expensive, but worth every penny. We love the thing. We got one that allows us to use our own litter, so the cats took to it right away. Soooo much easier!

 

Older Boy just turned 11. It’s not every day your young man turns 11. He wanted a party at the roller skating rink for just a very few close friends, thereby thwarting my grand plans for a Harry Potter party. Ah, well. There’s always the other one, right?

 

 

 

So many things are a work in progress right now. The house, my weight, adjusting to being a working mother, learning how to not buy all the things when I finally do go grocery shopping on the weekends. Being green, and being thrifty. That’s evolving, too. I don’t have time to do some of the things I used to, and others I was never very good at to begin with. I’m working on redefining those terms to fit into the life I’m starting now.

 

And, to top it all off, I just started eating meat again. It’s very strange, and I’m not used to it yet. I realized that vegetarian was turning into all carbohydrates, all the time for me. There just aren’t that many veggies that I like. Not enough to make meals out of. Also, my body, I think, has started feeding on itself to get the protein that it needs to function. Not only wasn’t I eating veggies, I wasn’t getting enough protein. It’s actually pretty easy to get enough, most Americans eat way more than is necessary, but I recorded it for a while and I wasn’t getting enough. I can’t eat beans at every meal, and I can’t stand the taste of soy. I am still minimizing the amount that I eat, but I’m adding in eggs and dairy again in a more significant way, and eating chicken about once a week.

 

My life is a work in progress right now, but I’m happier than I’ve been in a really long time.

This entry was posted in ecofriendly, Food, home, house hunting, thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

