Whew!

Feeling better having gotten that off my chest yesterday. It has been weighing on me. But, at 40 years old, it’s time to embrace who you are. I am not a green and thrifty girl except when I need to be. I will always be interested in personal finance and thrift though. I am a thrift store kind of gal after all, I just like to buy a lot when I’m there. Here lately, and for the foreseeable future, I will be a thrifty girl so that I can save for the house. Then so that we can get the debt paid off. We’ll get the car and the house paid off early, never fear, I just won’t kill us to do it.

 

I have deleted the Amazon app from my tablet. That should help with the lazy shopping. No more books unless I buy with a credit that I’ve gotten from trading. I won’t be following that meal plan anymore, I’ll be making up my own. That shopping trip was insane and I don’t ever want to repeat it. (I mean, I knew I had a lot, but it was over $400!!!! Never again!) I am trying to keep my grocery trips to once a week, and less than $100. Meat is expensive, but I am usually pretty close. No more junk food. The boys are going to buy their own if they want it. They’ve been bringing a dollar from their allowance to summer camp so they can get treats from the vending machine. I’m cool with that. We have some treats at the house, but chips and such are going to be rare. Whole foods prepared at home is what we’re getting from now on.

 

I won’t have time for much more than basic meal planning and quick dinners starting next week. That’s when I start work. The upside of that is #1: I’ll have a job!!!! and #2: there won’t be time for me to shop for sport, so we should save money. I’m going to pack my lunches every day, and so does Hubby already. I think it’ll be good for me to get out of my own head finally. I’ve been out of the workforce for 15 years now and, for the last several, have been going quietly more and more nutso. It’ll be nice to have something to focus on besides my own belly button during the day while the kids are at school. And, it’s a complex job, so it’ll be interesting.

 

Life is going to get different now and I think it’s going to be a good different. I think we’ll be able to save money in a big way, and I think we’ll all be happier once things shake down.

This entry was posted in Money, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whew!

  1. feistyfroggy says:

    Congrats on your new job. You’ve clearly defined your goals. Don’t feel bad that you’ve had to adjust them–happens to everyone. Goals are not set in stone. They are meant to be guidelines for where we want to go. As long as you complete the most important aspects, you will arrive where you want to be financially. I read once that rather beating yourself up for goals you didn’t accomplish on any given day, you should congratulate yourself on anything you DID accomplish–no matter how small. This will put you in a positive mind frame and also help you to know that you ARE moving forward no matter how slowly.

Leave a Reply

