Overtime and a massive shopping trip

I’m following politics some this year. I’m watching some of the convention speeches. There are definitely some differences in the approaches of the two major parties this year. It’s … interesting. That’s all I have to say about politics here. I love a good debate, but that’s not what this blog is about.

 

Hubby is already working overtime in preparation for the kids’ first tuition payment. We figured out that I’m not going to get two paychecks before then so he’ll have to make up the difference this time around. After that he’s going to have to work overtime to pay for the day care charges that we’re going to incur. My check will be just enough to cover the tuition with very little left over.  It totally is icky for him to have to do this, but he wants to get the debt paid off just as much as I do. Hey! I didn’t figure our tax return into the debt repayment! That’s very cool. We usually get a sizable refund and that will cut down on the time it takes to pay back the debt. Yay! This may yet work out the way I want it to.

 

Oh my. I literally just went and did the largest grocery shopping trip since I had to initially stock the pantry when we moved in together all those years ago. I’m starting a weekly meal plan thing that I got a couple of weeks ago and I did the shopping for that as well as the normal grocery shopping. YIKES! I had to adjust how much we are sending to the debt…that’s how big it was. But, I have food enough to last a long time. I have enough food for this week and next at least. I shouldn’t have to go shopping again for a while. Supposedly this is enough food for the week, but there were things that I couldn’t find in just 1 pound quantities (boneless, skinless chicken breasts do not come in one pound packages at Walmart). I feel like this is enough food to last a couple of weeks, but the recipes say it’s enough for two people for one week. It’s just a ton of food. If this shopping trip is indicative of the rest of the weekly meal plans, I’ll stick with mine and abandon the ones I’m basing this week off of. I can’t afford to spend several hundred dollars on groceries every week! Everyone says healthy is expensive and, if you shop like I just did, it is! I can do it a heck of alot cheaper though.

 

What was really funny was watching Myra (the kitten) play in all of the grocery bags. She was racing around the kitchen attacking bags that were scattered all over the floor. She did it for, like, ten minutes! Plastic bags are incredible toys apparently. (And don’t worry, I was watching and listening to her the whole time. I wouldn’t take a chance on her getting suffocated.) It was highly entertaining.

 

Anyway, I have learned my lesson. I’m never spending like that again. I already have buyer’s remorse. It’s food and it will all get eaten, but still. Never again.

 

 

This entry was posted in budget, Food, freezer cooking, groceries, meal planning, shopping, spending and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

