All over the place

Back to the gym and trying to eat better. Things are starting to come together again. Granted, it’s only been a few days, but I’m feeling more in control. We spent the weekend in the house – none of us got dressed for 3 days. We’d shower and get into a fresh pair of pajamas. It was glorious. The boys took an impromptu day off on Friday and we all had a three day weekend. Back to the world yesterday when the boys went to summer camp and Hubby went back to work. I managed to get by under my budget for this week’s groceries, too.

 

I finally got the formal job offer yesterday. I start in a couple of weeks. I have a year-long probationary period. It won’t be until that’s up that I feel like I actually have the job, but that’s OK. In the meantime I’ll be very busy with the school that I have to pass to keep the job. Hubby teaches at the school I’m going to go through, though, of course, he will not be having any contact with my class in a professional way. He’s going to help tutor me through the school, but that’s it. Everyone has tutoring available to them after school so it’s not like I’m getting something that’s not available to everyone. Hubby even does the tutoring sometimes. I just get extended hours. OK, I have a little bit of an advantage, let’s be honest. But I’m still the one who has to pass the essay tests and the practicals. Yikes! I’m totally nervous because it’s a difficult school, but I hope I can pass. I’m usually pretty good at school.

 

(sorry about that – nerves you know) Anyway… I didn’t meal plan this week, but I’m doing it on the fly. The night before I’ll plan for the next day or two. I really should just sit and figure out what to make for the rest of the week, but I just haven’t felt like it. Today is pot roast with salad, some kind of veggie (corn, peas, or green beans, which I’m not actually too fond of), and biscuits. We’re eating biscuits at every meal this week. We’re making the kids eat what we eat so having the biscuits ensures that there’s at least one thing that they like on the plate. I’m going to have to start making them rather than buying whomping biscuits (Pillsbury – so called because you whomp them on the counter to open them). It’s not like they’re difficult. I have my trusty America’s Test Kitchen cookbook to guide me. Their buttermilk biscuits are delish.

 

Older Boy and I talked this morning and he reiterated his desire to go vegetarian, except for the fact that half his diet is meat. I explained that that’s one of the reasons we are having them try new stuff. It takes three tries before you can really say whether you like a new thing or not, and fifteen to develop a taste for it apparently. I read that somewhere. I told him that and he looked resigned. That’s cool, at least he didn’t argue. He likes to debate; he’s definitely my kid. I also told him about meat replacements and some advances in science that are allowing scientists to grow meat in the lab. He’s down with trying the meat substitutes and thinks grown meat is cool. I don’t push it, ever (he brought it up), but I’m glad that he knows it’s an alternative that’s available to him.

 

Anyway, this is really just a hodge-podge of a post today, isn’t it? Ah well. Maybe I’ll make more sense tomorrow.

This entry was posted in diet, Food, Kids, meal planning, spending and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

