Expensive week

So, we weren’t as thrifty this paycheck as we should have been. We’re quite low on money at the mo. However, it went to good causes. I bought a work wardrobe (mostly cargo pants and polo shirts, but enough to last me a while at work once I start), and some summer clothes for the boys. Turns out Older Boy doesn’t like shorts anymore, so I bought him a couple more pairs of blue jeans instead. Younger Boy loves shorts, so it was shorts and sleeveless shirts for him. His favorite summer uniform. Their clothes were on super sale, so that was nice, and I got the best prices I could for mine. You’d be surprised how difficult it is to find cotton cargo pants for plus-sized women. I know, it’s oddly specific, but that’s what I needed. Polyester absorbs radiation better, and will tend to set off the detectors (at least I’m pretty sure that’s what Hubby told me; I knew they couldn’t have polyester in them – shirts or pants – at least).

 

The other big expense was haircuts for the kids and me. Older Boy got his long hair cut off. He’d had it shoulder length for two years. He wanted to donate it to Locks of Love, who make wigs for cancer patients who have lost their hair, but it wasn’t long enough. It needs to be at least 12 inches. Younger Boy was in dire need of one also, as was I. We went to a new place and I am quite pleased with how the cuts turned out. We are shorn for summer.

 

Next week I’ll be away from electronics. I’m going on a tech fast for the week. I have gotten addicted to checking email and facebook and the like, and it’s time to unplug for a while. I know, all of that tech hasn’t included writing here much, but I’ve been so busy on other apps and things that I haven’t put the tablet down long enough to write much of anything! Too much.

 

 

This entry was posted in Money, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

