Mom vs. money

Older Boy has quit karate. As a Mom I am not terribly happy about it, it got him out of the house and kept him active. He was good at it and enjoyed it for a long time. As a financial manager, I’m pleased. It’s $100 a month that is no longer going out. We can certainly use that. Younger Boy continues to enjoy it and will continue to go. Both of me are cool with that.

 

I am a weirdo, I know. I live life as the financial manager of our family, and as a Mom. Usually the two aren’t in conflict, but I have to admit to sometimes felling like I wanted to take the kids out of private school just so we could pay off the bills faster. It’s a significant chunk of change that increases every year. Mom me, of course, realizes that Montessori is the best place for both of them, they thrive there and I want that for them.

 

 

I am studying accounting and personal finance and money management as though I were going to do it for a living. Who knows, I may. I am certainly doing it for the family and therefore it behooves me to know as much as I can. I have always loved school and learning, so I am trying to learn as much as I can about things that matter to what I am currently doing. I long to go back to a regular college and just take random courses on accounting, environmental science, finances, exercise, and nutrition. Things that are important to me but may not lead to any real degree. Unless I can get a degree in finance with a minor in exercise and nutrition maybe. That’s actually doable. I’d end up as a sports financial advisor, but that’s not where I want to be. Really, I just want to know about certain subjects.

 

I’m addicted to school. It’s my happy place. I feel like I just don’t learn as much about a subject if I’m not in a classroom with other people bringing up their ideas and the discussions around them. But, I can buy textbooks for cheaper than I can attend school, and I can teach myself subjects that interest me. So, I have bought a hundred personal finance books over the years, and I’m starting on exercise. I have dozens of vegan and vegetarian books under my belt for nutrition. I’ll keep learning about all of the subjects that interest me and keep walking the balance beam between being a (amateur) financial planner and (amateur) personal trainer, and a (professional) Mom. Here’s to used books for learning! (after I’ve made a dent in what I already have!)

This entry was posted in fitness, Money and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

