Success

wpid-b24a197bd209b7570aab1473c14000d7.jpg

 

I’m headed in the right direction even if I get small setbacks along the way. I had my “Ah-ha!” moment yesterday and I’m riding high on that. We will still go out to dinner and go to the movies occasionally, we will still keep the kids in karate, but we won’t spend more than we have to on things that we need, and we’ll quit buying things that we don’t need on a whim. I spend the majority of our money on food. I can cut that number drastically by simply not buying so much processed stuff. The kids will still get granola bars for their lunch boxes, but ice cream will go back to being a treat and so will chips, and chocolate.

 

 

As with my diet, our ridiculous spending has had its last hurrah. I’ll make sure to schedule in enough for some fun here and there, but no more eating out twice a week (or more), and spending half of our money the day we get it, before I even pay bills. In reality we are spending more than I budget for us because we are spending money before i set up the budget and then I’m making the budget for the pay period from the reduced amount! No more of that, thank you!

 

I’m back in the gym, my eating is cleaner, and now our spending will be leaner as well. This is a total makeover. I’m excited about it, too. And, with the help of this blog to keep me accountable and to find support, it won’t turn into a New Year’s Resolution a couple of months late. I have plans for our money and I’m sticking to them. I may only be able to do half hour workouts in the gym right now, but that’s better than the none I was doing before. I am not going totally vegan again yet, but I’m more than half-way there. Success is not a straight line and I’m doing my share of curving around, but we’ll get there.

This entry was posted in diet, Food, spending, Weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Success

  1. Dear Frugality says:

    This really hits home with me. I was “budgeting” the same way with you were. Not anymore! Also, really digging the diagram. Best of luck with your journey!

    • Thank you so much! Yeah, I had to get over the idea that just because I took a step backwards (or even several of them) that meant that I was a failure. Success really is a jagged, loopy line. I’m working on it though. The great thing that I’ve realized, too is that there is no real finish line. I will be working that success line for the rest of my life. And that’s not daunting. It’s fun. I get to keep trying over and over again and getting better and better as time goes on. Yes, I slip back, but I’ll slip forward again.

      AS far as the saving vs. not spending, that was huge for me. I’m still wrapping my head around it but, like vegetarianism, it’s a huge, sudden sea-change for me. I don’t think Ill be going back anytime soon.

      • Dear Frugality says:

        Well said! I’m in the process of making some huge financial changes right now and this is really inspirational to read. Yes, it was very daunting three weeks ago when I realized I didn’t have leisure money anymore. Now that I’m three weeks into this trek though, it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. I feel a lot more….confident about my finances. There’s stability now. There wasn’t any before.

  2. dori says:

    Best of luck to you!!

    I find that as I add more veggies, animal food becomes less and less appealing. I do have occasional cravings though.

Leave a Reply

