Backing off a little

I read Rich Dad, Poor Dad and thought it had some super points in it. I got sparked a little bit and started telling my husband about personal corporations, and investment properties, and things like that. I worried him a little. Now, even if we ever do have assets enough to make me want to explore that kind of thing more, we have a long way to go. So, as always happens when I start flying off into the atmosphere because an idea has taken hold of me, my husband has brought me back to Earth. We have many things we need to do before I start looking at advanced investment strategies and things like that. We need to pay off debt and save an emergency fund. We need to make sure our retirement is financed. We have a few years yet.

 

For now, we are going to stick to the utterly predictable, middle-class way of doing things. And that’s not bad. We are middle-class people. We are not particularly ambitious, nor are we lazy. We believe in paying our taxes and working hard. I suppose that does make us utterly unfit to have the kind of wealth the book talks about, at least according to the author. We just don’t have the right mindset. Ah, well. So, we’ll stay middle-class and be happy with our little slice of the pie. I’ll keep saving and start investing and we’ll create a little wealth and we’ll be happy not having the stress of being uber rich.

 

I tend to get caught up in subjects and start flying off into the distance dreaming about what could be. The worst part of that for my budget is that I’ll go out and buy starter supplies for whatever it is I’m learning about (sewing, knitting, drawing, etc.) and never actually use them. I may even start on a project, but I never finish it. For me the fun part is the learning. So, from now on I pledge to not buy the starter supplies for any project unless it becomes burdensome to be doing whatever it is I’m doing without them. I won’t just go out and get them just because I’m learning about the thing. The books are fine. I’m getting them primarily used and often for credits that I’ve traded for. I am free to learn about whatever I want, from starting a socially responsible business, to sewing leisure clothes based on patterns from the 1940’s and 1950’s. But, until I have actually started doing something and the lack of supplies is hindering my forward progress, I won’t get them. And, when I do, they’ll be as discounted as I can find. (For sewing, bed sheets from the thrift store have a lot of good fabric in them, and I can remake clothes that are too big for me into other, nicer things, or tailor them down to fit!) My finances won’t suffer for my dives down the rabbit hole to study a series of somethings.

 

My latest series is finances (again, or still). I am specifically going to study risk and how to manage it because I am very risk averse. I want to study statistics as it’s the language of risk. I also want to study accounting to see if there’s a better way to keep my home finances and handle them as they get more advanced. See what I mean about diving down a rabbit hole? One leads to the other. It’s awfully fun to do this sometimes and I always learn things that can help me in other areas of my life as well. I may start a parallel learning track about exercise weight loss to get me off my butt and doing that as well. Fun things await!

This entry was posted in book, Books, budget, hobbies, motivation, Thoughts and meditations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

