Thrifty more than green

Lots about money lately and not much about green, huh? Well, I’m in a debt phase and much of what I had been doing lately was either wasteful or for convenience and not for anything else. As a result, I have a bunch of store bought detergents and cleaners that I am going to use up. I still have homemade soap but that’s from when I made it last time. Thankfully I have the stuff to make it again already.

 

I am still a little in spending mode, but it’s already gotten better. I just need to learn how to be at home and not go shopping out of boredom but still be able to leave the house. I have stayed mostly indoors for the last week because I didn’t want to spend money. It worked, but I’d like to be able to save money and still have a life. On the plus side, the house is a lot cleaner than it’s been in quite a while.  🙂

 

I have been reading again. Most of what I’ve been reading has been common sense really. It’s nice to have the reminder, but it’s not new information. I just finished a book called Frugal Millionaires, and it was advice from 70 millionaires who are also frugal (obviously). They don’t live a jet-setting lifestyle like the media thinks millionaires should, they are quietly wealthy. It was interesting, but not terribly ground-breaking. It was nice to see most of what I’ve read in frugal books echoed by millionaires, but these people also had problems and ideas that don’t really apply to people like me who have very little net worth. They are advising trusts and accountants and financial planners. I can’t afford all of those yet. I guess that will apply once I am out of debt, but not quite yet.

 

For now I’m still a small fry, digging out of the debt hole. I may never be a millionaire though. One person said that no one ever saved their way to millions. Meaning, of course, that you need to invest and “make your money work for you”. That’s where the financial planner comes in I guess. I have a way to go before I am in any position to be investing anything. I’m also already 40 years old. I still have some time, but I may never hit millionaire status. We are diligently contributing to my husband’s retirement plan. We don’t have any money saved for the kid’s college, nor do we have a 6 month emergency fund yet. It’s going to take years to pay off our new mortgage since we’re moving this year or next; I am determined that it will happen though.

 

The book had some good advice but some of it was conflicting. I guess that has more to do with each person’s priorities than anything else though. Most of the advice was all in one direction. Stay healthy, save money, live below your means, invest, give to charity, that sort of thing. The things that we all know we should be doing but don’t always. While you may not be able to save your way to millions, I am going to at least save my way to thousands! WE’ll see what comes next.

This entry was posted in book, book review, Books, Environment, Thoughts and meditations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thrifty more than green

  1. Valerie says:

    “On the plus side, the house is a lot cleaner than it’s been in quite a while. ” – LOL!

Leave a Reply

