Happy Holidays

I hope everyone’s holidays were good and that the coming year is wonderful for us all! Spending time with family is my favorite part of the holidays and I’ve gotten to do that this year. The kids got almost everything they asked Santa for (and thankfully their lists are never too long), and so it was a wonderful holiday for them as well. All the time spent anticipating Christmas was totally worth it as it met all of my expectations and more.

 

We are still basking in the holiday spirit as we prepare for New Year’s Day. My mother has glommed onto the southern tradition of having black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day for prosperity in the coming year. I’m happy for her that she has this tradition that she enjoys, but I think the things taste like dirt. I will not be partaking this year. And, to make them taste anything approaching good, they add pork to it, so I’m out anyways.

 

I think I told you we bought a new car. It’s a van and the payments are outrageous. We are going to make a couple of the outrageous payments, get our tax return, and put that toward the car when we refinance with my sister-in-law (who works at a bank) for a MUCH better interest rate. That should help. The payments will still be huge, but slightly more manageable.

 

As for school, that’s still up in the air. I’ve applied for a couple of jobs and we’ll see how that goes. After the holidays I’ll start applying again and we’ll see what comes of it. I’m once again at a crossroads. Every few years I get back to start. My life is a series of do-overs. That’s OK though. My family knows that it’s not for lack of trying on my part. Things just work out differently for me than they do for other people. Eventually I’ll get going. In the meantime, I’m going to try to enjoy what comes, otherwise I’ll be waiting for my life to start until I die.

 

As for green and thrifty, well, the holidays don’t really lend themselves to that in my house. I know they should and that it’s a perfect opportunity to cut back on some spending, but I love the holidays so very much. I love finding the perfect present for someone and seeing their faces when they get it. I love going over the top and making the holidays special for everyone by getting them what I can to make them even happier. At least we don’t go into debt to do it anymore. I make sure to start early and spend a little at a time over the course of several months so that we don’t get all backed up and stuck with nothing in December.

 

Anyway, I’m still celebrating and playing with all of my presents, and I hope you all are too. Happy holidays and I’ll see you next year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

