Frugal beginnings

Well, I went on Amazon yesterday to get some much needed ingredients for a Christmas recipe (ones that can’t be found locally), and they were add-ons, so I ended up buying a book as well to get up to the dollar amount that I needed to get the stuff shipped. America’s Cheapest Family Gets You Right On The Money. It arrives tomorrow, so we’ll see. I’ve read another book by the authors and I enjoyed it. They’re not the same as the Tightwad Gazette books, they are more traditional frugality books, but they do something that others do not – they give you options. They outline their ideas then give three levels of implementation, so if you are a beginner, you can do the first set of directions, if you are intermediate or black belt, you can do one of the two others. It’s a great idea and I’m looking forward to seeing how they do general. The other book I read was on cutting your grocery bill. They had some good ideas and their different levels were helpful. That wasn’t terribly frugal, but hopefully reading the book will get me some new ideas.

 

My husband made his lunches for the week on Sunday, and I made our week-long salad last night. (It usually lasts a week to a week and a half before we either eat it all or we need to get rid of it.) Now I have healthy lunches as well. We need to meal plan again and it looks like I’m just going to have to suck it up and handle meat again. My husband will cook meat if he can dump it in the crock pot in the morning with a bottle of BBQ sauce, but doesn’t generally want to cook when he gets home. Therefore we end up wither eating pasta, some sort of rice, eating out, or ordering pizza. That’s not acceptable. The only way actual dinners are going to get cooked is if I cook them. Since I’m out of school and work, I have the time to prep and everything, I just need to get over my dislike of handling dead flesh and preparing it for my family to eat. It’s not going to be easy. But, it’s the only way we are going to be able to save money. We’ll see how it goes. I may have to insist on reverting to the original agreement that he makes the meat for the family and I make a veggie dish that will be my meal and their side dish. I’ll give cooking a renewed try though. Ugh.

 

At least I’m not totally back at the beginning. I have lots of knowledge from the last year or two that I’ve gained, books to reread to help refresh my memory on strategies that I may have forgotten, and blogs and websites saved that will be a huge help. I’d like to thank you all for helping me out as well. You have helped keep me accountable and knowing that you are out there has helped keep me from backsliding too much. Here we go again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugal beginnings

  1. youmeanme says:

    I hadn’t heard of this book but I’ll definitely check my library.

    Enjoy the refresher! I always find it helpful because I ‘know’ the advice but I definitely slide a bit. The blogging helps keep me accountable too :).

Leave a Reply

