Money, reading, and Paris

So here we are again, it’s been a week since my last post. I think I’m going to stop apologizing for taking so long between posts and just get on with the post. The swelling has finally gone all the way down on my ankle but now I’m in a splint to stabilize it for the next couple of weeks while it heals the rest of the way. On the plus side, the second x-ray didn’t show any chipped bone after all, so that’s nice.

 

I have been devouring wonderful romance novels. I’ve read half a dozen in the last week and I’m enjoying the hack out of it. I’m making some headway into the shelves of to be read books that I’ve been collecting while I was in nursing school. Really, I have few choices as to what to do – it’s between watching movies, reading, or social media really since I still have to stay mostly off my feet. Reading all day just feels like such an indulgence.

 

Today I accrued more debt. I had to take out a student loan to pay for the remainder of my schooling. Ugh. I hate to do it, but because I have to repeat a class, it’s more than I can just pay out of pocket. Hate this! But, there’s no getting around it, so I’ll make the best of it. I had already paid some of the outstanding tuition, so the amount of the student loan is not terrible, but it’s the principle of the thing. More debt.

 

We’ve been overspending as well these past few weeks. Christmas shopping is done, but my main means of getting out of the house has been to go to Target or Walmart where they have the little shopping cart scooters and tool around on those. Bad idea, I know, but it was the only thing I could think of that didn’t involve much walking but still got me out of the house. Thankfully that’s not my only option anymore now that I can limp around some without my cane or crutches.

 

Mostly I read though. I have stayed off the computer and social media a lot recently, I find that it’s nice to unplug sometimes. The downside is that I didn’t find out about the Paris attacks for a full day – my husband assumed I knew and didn’t bring it up until 2 days after it happened. Horrifying. The people of Paris have my deepest sympathy and I know that they are a strong people who will bounce back from this. I’m not going to get political at all, just say that I am so very sorry that this happened and my deepest condolences go out to the people of France.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

