Homemade deodorant update

OK, so I love this recipe but I’m having a reaction to it. Nothing too bad, but it is apparently a reaction that doesn’t happen to many people. The skin of my underarms is getting discolored. It doesn’t itch or burn or anything, it’s just darker than the skin around it. Odd. I did a little searching and found a possible solution is to spritz your underarms with apple cider vinegar and water (1 T ACV to 1 cup water), wait for it to dry and then put on the deodorant, and exfoliate your underarms with a soft loofah or washcloth in the shower.

Another possible side effect is an uncomfortable rash. Again, this is rare, but it can be fixed by decreasing the amount of baking soda and increasing the (soothing) cornstarch and coconut oil. An alternate recipe would be:

6T coconut oil

1/4 c. baking soda

1/2 c. cornstarch

a few drops each of tea tree oil and lavender oil (both of which will fight the bacteria that causes stinkiness)

I’m going to make up a batch of the ACV mixture and do a little light scrub of my pits for a while and  see how that does at removing the discoloration. It’s not irritated in any way, it’s just a little strange. I don’t want to give up on this recipe because I love the way it smells and it works great. I’ll mix up a batch of the alternate and see how well that works, too. But, like I said, my overall recommendation is to definitely try it. It works wonderfully and smells divine. Even in the middle of summer when I am working at a hospital and haven’t stopped moving for 8 hours straight and sweating up a storm, it works great. I’ll let you know how this goes.

This entry was posted in ecofriendly, homemade, natural and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade deodorant update

  1. Pingback: Homemade stuff | Green and Thrifty

  2. Pingback: Healthy Living Bundle – trying new things | Green and Thrifty

  3. Pingback: Changes | Green and Thrifty

Leave a Reply

