Happiness on $10 a Day

I started reading a book that I got in the mail yesterday but ended up putting it down half-way through. It was called Happiness On $10 A Day. It was written in 2009 and I was hoping for wonderful things because it was right after the recession. What it was was a hipster’s guide to “saving” money. Instead of going out to the bars, mix up your own cocktails and name them after yourself. There are karaoke programs on your computer that you can use! You should do good and make sure everyone knows about it, that will make you feel good. The author is very smug about disliking the 90’s hipsters but gives a road map on how to be a 2000’s hipster. Drink 40 oz cheap beer and have drinking contests with it. It’s a good book if you’re a pretentious twit I guess, but I wasn’t into it. There were no real money saving tips and lots of ways to make yourself feel superior, usually by slumming. I was not a fan.

I am looking for real ideas on how to save money. I don’t necessarily need ideas for parties and such because we are total home-bodies, but fun on $10 a day seems great. We have a family of 4 with two young-ish children. Off the beaten path, cheap fun would be great. Ah, well. I will keep reading.

This entry was posted in book review, Books, saving money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happiness on $10 a Day

  1. Sorry that book wasn’t interesting to you. I don’t think I would have enjoyed it either! Here are a few money-saving books I’ve read lately-The Frugal Life by Michelle Stewart, Living Rich by Spending Smart by Gregory Karp and Living Well Spending Less by Ruth Soukup. Hope this helps!

    • Hey, thanks! I really appreciate the recommendations and I’ll definitely add them to my (ever expanding) reading list. Thrift is where it’s at and I’m reading all I can again/still.

Leave a Reply

