But, what do I know?

I have no expertise. I am a perennial student and housewife. I am about to finally start on my first career next year. What do I know? Well, I know that it’s worth trying new things. I know that being green, thrifty, and ethical is important to me and to the Earth. I know that nobody’s perfect, most assuredly not I. I know that I am a lucky woman to have a family who love each other and enough food and money to be comfortable. I know that love may not be all we need, but it sure does go a long way to making things better. I know that people generally all want to do the right thing, they’re just sometimes unsure of what the right thing is. I know that people around the world are more alike than they are different. Cultures may change behaviors, but we are all humans and capable of the same emotions for many of the same reasons.

I know that I love watching my kids grow. I love watching my garden grow. Both are examples (in their own ways) of the wonders of nature. I know that animals feel emotions like love and loyalty and that killing them for food isn’t something I’m willing to do anymore. One of my goals in this life is to help minimize suffering and maximize the happiness of those with whom I come into contact. That includes all living things. I know that I am not great at that yet.

I know that I will continue to learn new things every day of my life. I know that I am enough just the way I am (and that was some hard won knowledge). I know that the American Dream of having more and better than the next guy isn’t for me. I know that you can be hurting and not show it – money, emotions, injury…  I know that everyone is deserving of basic respect and kindness. I know that I am going to stumble and fall many, many times but it’s the number of times that I get up that matters. I know that people will separate into groups if left to themselves and that there need to be people willing to go from group to group, introducing people and starting conversations. That’s the only way we get anything accomplished. I know that I am a reader, and writer of silly things.

I know that I love may people and things and that that is a very good thing. What do you know?

This entry was posted in Thoughts and meditations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

