Vast, brilliant, and brave

image

I love this, but too often I am not. I am small and cozy and homey instead. I am sturdy. I think this is what I aspired to as a young person, and maybe I’ll be vast and brilliant someday again, but right now I am Mommy and student and wife. I am not going into a profession that lends itself to vast brilliance either. Nursing just doesn’t seem to be that kind of field. I can make a difference in people’s lives, but vast and brilliant at work? Maybe.

I think this has more to do with living your life instead of letting it just go on past. I tend to drift on the cosmic currents. I wander around some until all of the sudden I find myself somewhere, and it’s usually right where I belong. I have wandered successfully many times now. It’s how I found myself in nursing school. But this feels like the right place for me. I am content.

One thing that I am guilty of is not siezing chances when they come. I had the chance to go to Italy (twice!) and I always found “better” uses for the money. I have passed up chances for jobs and trips and chosen home and family instead. That’s just who I am and what I value most. Here’s the thing though:

image

I have kids. I need to take some chances and live my life out loud so that they know what’s possible. At least live a life larger than just home and family. They need to know that it’s OK to go out into the world and explore; to make mistakes and fall on your face as long as you get up and keep going. 

This entry was posted in Kids, Quote, Quotes, Thoughts and meditations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

