Sew happy!

My mother, a long-time quilter, just bought me and my sister new sewing machines. She had gotten us our old ones when we moved out of the house 20 years ago. Those machines have stood the test of time. They are little workhorses. Turns out though, sewing machines have come a long way since then. The new machines have all the bells and whistles – automatic threading and cutting, something like 70 stitch styles, even the ability to embroider a 4″ X 4″ area. These suckers are super fancy.

I am over the moon to have this new machine. The thing is, I haven’t even taken it out of the box yet. What with school and family and all the rest going on, I just haven’t had time to devote to it. When I sit down with it I want to have enough time to play with it, and read the manual, and actually work on a project. No such time has presented itself so far. I will carve some out though soon.

The last time I went to see my parents I had just bought a pattern for a 1940’s style dress. This thing is gorgeous. My mother and I had some bonding time while finding the perfect material and notions for the dress. While she’s a quilter, she started off with regular sewing and loves that we like to sew at all. And, as a quilter, fabric is her thing. We had a grand time searching the fabric store for just the right shade of just the right fabric. It was wonderful. That was last July. I still haven’t made the dress. However, once I get the hang of this new machine by practicing my tailoring on some super large, but still nice, thrift store clothes that I found, that dress is going to be my first real project.

I’m hoping that, by Christmas when I see my parents again, I will have that dress made and tailored to fit beautifully. I will be proud of the dress and Mom will be super happy that she got me the machine to make it. I love that the three of us (Mom, my sister and I) can share something like this. With me finally joining Skype, we can even show each other our latest projects even though we are all scattered around the country. Fun! I can’t wait to get started!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

