Weather or not

Last week it snowed 3 inches. This week it’s been in the 60’s and 70’s. The weather has gone nutso. I am afraid to get out and do anything in the garden, but I feel like I have to strike while the iron is hot (or the weather is nice). Saturday, weather permitting, I’ll get out there and start prepping my garden box. I’ll dig out some compost from my pile (that I haven’t turned all winter), and see what I can do to get this thing ready.

I have my seeds. I think I told you, I went to the high end garden center several weeks ago and found organic, heirloom seeds there. Tons of them. I got everything I wanted plus a couple of things. Now I just need to figure out where to plant the extras! And what extras they are, my son wanted me to get watermelons and green onions. Since he is interested in gardening and earth-friendly sorts of things, I decided to oblige him. Now, where the heck can I plant watermelon? Last year the squash took over the garden, and I want other things in there this year. I’m going to have to use one of my half barrel planters and hope for the best I think. I learned some things and am hoping to learn more this year and have a similarly successful garden.

On thing the weather has taught me lately is that things change in an instant, so you’d better be ready. Snow and a week’s worth of school shutdowns, followed by throw open the doors and revel in the sunshine weather make for strange weeks. Things are looking pretty variable this week as well. Life is quite that way though, isn’t it? I know, I’m being trite, but things have been gloomy lately and I’m looking for rainbows. The sun is shining today and I’m taking that as a sign.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

