I’ve gotten away from my center

For quite a while I was being green and thrifty and loving it. I have gotten away from that in the last several months. I no longer hang my laundry. I haven’t cooked a real dinner at home in several months – we’ve been living off pasta and frozen foods. We are spending almost as much money as we did before we started this journey to thrift. Ugh. I’ve lost my way.

Part of it is school. The program that I’m in condenses a semester’s worth of time and work into 5 weeks. During that 5 weeks we are taking 2 classes. Not exactly conducive to relaxed time for planning the week all the rest. Part of it is just me being lazy and coveting every spare moment I get. So, the solution is to focus more.  Oh my.

First things first. What are my goals? Passing school. Getting in shape. Hanging laundry again. Getting back to thrifty.

Once I get a little caught up with laundry after today, I can start hanging and doing a load a day and I should be able to keep up with it and actually get it folded in a timely manner (That’s a big issue in this house – clean clothes in a mountain waiting to be folded). I do dishes so I know that they are getting done a full load at a time. I bought a single-serve coffee maker with a reusable basket so that I’m not wasting coffee every time I want just one cup anymore (I had to make a minimum of 4 cups in the old coffeemaker and my cup holds 2 1/2). I am refocusing on school and changing the way I study so that I can pass this silly class that’s kicking my butt. I started karate with the kids so that I could start truly getting in shape and learn something at the same time.

Money is a different matter. Money is going to take some adjusting. We have been spending more lately, but that’s because of surprise expenses and a few new bills. Things have calmed down now though and we can get a hold on what we’re actually spending vs. what we’ve been having to spend these last couple of months. Once we get that figured out, I can go through and start the process over. I can start figuring out where to cut expenses so that we can save more and get our emergency fund fleshed out that much quicker.

One thing that does need to change is that I need to start cooking again. As I said, right now we are living off of pizza and pasta, the kids on frozen chicken tenders, and that’s about it. While it’s relatively cheap, it’s not exactly healthy. We have food, we just haven’t been cooking it. That’s got to change.

While this all feels mighty ambitious – I’ve gotten used to being somewhat lazy and laissez faire about things – getting a little more disciplined will make me feel a lot better. I’m taking a lot on all at once, but I am not doing anything that hasn’t been done before. All working moms wish there were more hours in the day to get things done. I may not be working yet, but I share in the sentiment. The trick is to get into a routine. Wake up, do a load of laundry, get the kids ready for school, go, get home, do a load of dishes and tidy the place a bit, do homework, go to the gym, cook dinner, spend time with the family and then go to bed. It sounds good, the real question is if I can manage it that way. I’m certainly going to give it a try.

The great thing is that, even if I fail a few times, I’m not going to give up. This is a process. I am going to mess up. I have, in fact, messed up already. I can do better. And even if I only do better in one thing, that’s one less thing I have to work on the next time. Some things in my life suck just now. The more of a handle I can get on the rest of it, the easier it will make the sucky bits. I won’t have everything else to worry about on top of it. Let’s see what we can do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve gotten away from my center

  1. bmary says:

    Success is never linear! I’m glad you’re getting back into things! Look forward to hearing more! Good luck! 🙂

    P.s. my mountain of clean, yet to be folded laundry says “hello!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

