Daydreaming

Today we start the process of removing my braces. I’ve had them on for a year and a half or so. The orthodontist is chomping at the bit to even out the bottoms of my teeth where one is chipped and another had to be repaired. I can’t even really imagine a mouth without snaggleteeth. I look in the mirror and I know they’re straight now, but it’s not the same as seeing them without the braces on and straight. I may end up with a normal smile. Strange. I’m daydreaming about pictures taken a couple of months from now with a straight smile.

I’m daydreaming about my garden as well. I have seeds left from last year that I’m going to test, and there are a couple of changes I want to make as well. No cucumbers or butternut squash this year. Maybe fewer tomato plants. More lettuces. I’m notoriously bad a succession planting though… I’ll have to write myself little notes or something. Peas! I have discovered that I like peas straight from the garden. If you eat them raw, they are little bundles of sweet yumminess. I’ll try my hand at soybeans this year, and plant more corn than I did last year. I am quite excited to spread homemade compost and grow a wonderful garden. I got my catalog from the Seed Saver’s Exchange already. They specialize in heirloom and rare, non-gmo, organic seeds. Maybe I’ll even try my hand at saving seeds for next year. Like I said, daydreaming.

And one more daydream. Around this time next year I will (hopefully) be graduating nursing school. I think now that I want to be an operating room nurse, but I may start real clinical rounds and discover that I have an aptitude somewhere else. It’s exciting to contemplate starting out on a career after a lifetime of school and staying home with the kids. It’s hard to picture myself as a nurse when I don’t really know what kind of nurse I’ll be, but I know that it will involve taking good care of people. I can totally do that.

I don’t spend as much time as I was used to daydreaming anymore, but it’s nice to let my mind wander into possible good futures now and again. It keeps me motivated and excited about what’s to come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daydreaming

  1. bmary says:

    Woo hoo! Glad you’re getting your braces off! 🙂

Leave a Reply

