Hardiest plants…ever!

So, I haven’t been paying attention to my fall garden, like, at all. I threw some seed in the ground and I water them every once in a while. Here’s the thing though, I have stuff growing. Not just growing, but thriving! I am going to have another crop of zucchini here soon. I didn’t even plant zucchini this time! At his point I’m not really sure what I have in there besides the zucchini and three carrots. There are several plants, spread throughout the box, that look like tomatoes. Unless the seeds were in the compost that I spread -which is entirely possible, I may not have let it cook long enough or something- I have no idea what they actually are. And, speaking of compost, I have what looks like a cucumber vine growing in my pile. This is ridiculous. I love it!

I am a bad composter. Very lazy. I throw scraps and trimmings on the pile and let them sit. I turn it over every once in a while. I know I should do it more often, but there’s a lot of material there and I don’t have a pitchfork or anything. I am trying to turn it over with a shovel. Not ideal. As with all things gardeny, I am doing it how I feel like doing it and not necessarily the best way.

Obviously, we are having an incredibly mild fall. Temperatures are steadily in the high 60’s to mid 70’s. Perfect growing weather. I thought I planted kale and lettuce and carrots. Apparently zucchini and tomatoes seized their chance and are growing instead. I haven’t been watering regularly enough for the greens to take hold. I can’t wait to see if it really is tomatoes, I have been chomping at the bit to make my own spaghetti sauce again.

I think I’m going to keep letting my gardens be a surprise; I really enjoy wondering what’s coming. I know that makes me a bad gardener, but I am having way too much fun to care. At this point there’s nothing I can do to keep it from being a surprise because I planted one thing and something else has come up! I know I didn’t get my seeds mixed up because zucchini seeds do not look like lettuce seeds, and they were all from new packages. I bought organic, heirloom seeds for my fall crop.

At least I’ll get something. And, my son has been agitating for more zucchini bread. The 5 year old loves it. He ate almost an entire loaf himself over the course of a week and a half. I am a tad disappointed that my carrots have been mostly crowded out by the rogue zucchini though. Three carrots just aren’t enough. I guess I could grate them into my spaghetti sauce.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

