Veggie times

As a newly minted vegetarian / vegan (vegan wherever possible but sometimes you can’t avoid butter in a restaurant or cheese when pizza is all that’s offered), I am in a frenzy of trying new things. I didn’t eat vegetables before this, so becoming a vegetarian seemed daunting. A few words of advice from my best friend to her daughter (who is also a vegetarian), helped though. Just because you don’t like a vegetable the way it has been prepared doesn’t mean that you don’t like it, it just means you haven’t found the way you like it prepared yet. In that spirit I am trying new things.

The one vegetable that I was ever forced to eat (and not by my parents) was broccoli. Steamed broccoli. I vowed then and there – at 10 years old- that I would never eat it again. Two weeks ago I finally found the courage to try raw broccoli.  It wasn’t horrible. I also found out that I don’t like raw tomatoes, though I do like them cooked. Last week I tried spaghetti squash. The recipe I tried had garlic and red pepper flakes. With the peppers it was too spicy for me, but I am trying it again without them.  I liked the texture and it was fun making it.

I have the beginnings of a winter garden. I haven’t been tending it as closely as I did my spring garden, but it’s growing. Strangely, I have another zucchini plant growing quite well. I’m not sure where it came from, but it’s going strong.  I have a few carrots and a couple of mystery plants as well. Thing is, I have no idea what the plants I did plant look like when they are growing and, again, I didn’t label anything because I was sure I’d remember what was where (lesson learned). So now I have no idea what’s growing but I know it’s green and exciting. 

It turns out there is a whole world of vegetables out there. And,  I actually like some of them. Amazing. It’s like a revelation.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

