My crazy life

Things have been nuts around here for the past several months. First it was the last summer vacation I will get with my kids for a very long time. Then school started and it’s crazy. I’m going to a career college for nursing in an accelerated program. I just did the first half of anatomy and physiology in five weeks. We’re in class five hours a day to get the same number of classroom hours as a regular college. Crazy. The up side is that I will be able to sit for my test to become a registered nurse in January of 2015. The down side is that I will be doing classes five hours a day every day for 16 months. We get a week off for Christmas and New Year’s but that’s the only break we get.

Assuming I pass all my classes, I will be a registered nurse in just over a year. I know, from English major to RN? But I realized about a year ago that I didn’t want to teach. I don’t like speaking in front of groups of people, so why would I want to do it full time?! Nursing is a career where I can help people in a very personal way and see the results pretty quickly. Cool. So, here we are and I’m committed to this path now.

That’s just one of the changes that have been afoot. I mentioned that I was going through some changes, and those included school and deciding to go vegetarian/vegan. I’m not going to become a veg crusader, don’t worry. This just seemed like a natural outgrowth of trying to live my values. And, the more I learned about how factory farms and slaughterhouses are run, the less I wanted to eat meat. It wasn’t an easy transition, but I’m vegan at home and vegetarian when we eat out for now. I’m headed toward vegan all the time hopefully. For those who may not know, vegetarians eat milk, eggs, and honey, but nothing with a face. Vegans don’t eat meat, milk, eggs, or honey.  It’s cool because it turns out dairy and I didn’t get along and I just never realized that that’s what was wrong.

Anyway, that’s what’s new here and why I’ve been away. Sorry for abandoning my post for so long! I will do my best to do better.

I’ve planted my fall garden.  Once again I didn’t label everything. I tried popsicle sticks with permanent marker but it just melted away in the rain. So, a surprise once again. Kale, carrots, lettuce, spinach, and the broccoli that I let go to seed. I pruned back the dead stalks yesterday and I already have new growth around the main stalk on a few of them. I spread some compost in my garden box and hand tilled it in. There are still a few eggshells in there, but I figure they’re not going to hurt anything.

I hope all of you have been doing well. And, I hope I will be better able to stick around from here on out. Hello again!

This entry was posted in Gardening, Thoughts and meditations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My crazy life

  1. bmary says:

    Good to hear from you again! Congrats on going veggie!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

