Potatoes and crafts

Well, the purple potatoes have been dug up.

image

I know, dirty counter. Sorry.

They didn’t turn out too big, and a couple of them were liquified in the ground. But, tomorrow the good ones are turning into breakfast potatoes (along with some regular ones I bought to make sure there’s enough to go around.). I’m so excited to see how they taste.

I got my fall seeds in the mail yesterday afternoon. I need to order some kale because I forgot it in the first order, but I am super excited to plant it all next month. I figure mid August is a good time to start it all.

So far my experiments have paid off. I am still getting tomatoes from my grape tomato plants – more than we can eat in a week. My butternut squash is ripening nicely, the Zucchini is dying off, it has a white, powdery residue on it and started drooping and dying off. We got plent of zucchini from them though. My cucumbers vined quite well but didn’t produce a huge number. Just enough for a few small jars of pickle chips. Im pleased with my season though.

Ok, enough about the garden. I am obsessed and you all are probably terribly bored by now.

I bought a couple more dress patterns that are reproductions of 1930’s dresses. I’m headed off to see my parents next week and my mother and I are going to sew and cook up a storm. This is my true summer vacation.

I decided recently that I am going to try to teach myself how to crochet again as well. My husband is skeptical since I have so very many other projects lying around that I haven’t gotten back to yet. I’ll get back to them someday.  He just doesn’t understand.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Potatoes and crafts

  1. lizard100 says:

    There’s something strange about the way purple potatoes taste like regular ones!

  2. The August/September issue of MOTHER EARTH NEWS has several articles I think would be of interest to you. Especially the one about Lifestyles of the Self-Sufficient.

Leave a Reply

