Sewing for dummies

Well, my hair falls in perfect 1920’s – 30’s finger waves these days. I mean perfect. And there’s nothing I can do about it. So, I have decided to embrace it. I ordered a 1930’s button dress pattern and bought a couple of others as well. I’m going to be sewing up a storm here soon and hopefully the thing doesn’t look completely unfortunate on me. I may even take a picture if I don’t screw it up too badly.

Sewing has been one of my major holes in thrift. I tend not to think about sewing because I don’t wear dresses that often and I can get shirts and pants at the thrift store cheaper than I can get fabric. But now I want a dress. A couple of them. I am weirdly shaped so sewing seems to me to be the best option for a good fit.

Fabric isn’t cheap and it doesn’t really make sense to sew your own t-shirts and such. But fancier clothes, now those do make sense I suppose. When a well made little black dress can cost over $100, it seems worth it to dust off the sewing machine and try my best. I guess because I haven’t had to have nice clothes in years, sewing hasn’t been a priority.  But, now that I’m getting ready to start working and interviewing,  it’s time.

This is going to be an adventure. I have sewn a Halloween costume or two, and one dress, years ago. That’s the extent of my sewing experience. I think that, before I try my hand at a little black dress, I’ll try some t-shirts or easy patterns. I have yards and yards of muslin that my mother bought me on sale years ago, I can experiment with that first. I have one last summer vacation that I can use to learn.

This entry was posted in clothes, saving money and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing for dummies

  1. Joanna says:

    Looking forward to seeing the results!

Leave a Reply

