Motivation

Money, money, money! I’ve been zipping through personal finance books this week. I think I’ve read three so far. I rediscovered the library and I’m awfully glad I didn’t buy a couple of these. That’s ok though, I am having fun. Thankfully the library has some up to date titles as well as the older classics. I don’t necessarily want investing advice from a book written in 2005 (at the height of the housing bubble). However, books on thrift never go out of date. Neither do books on organizing. I told you all a long time ago that my addiction is books. I adore reading, and I’m on a non-fiction binge lately.

And, reading is actually helpful in staying on track with my frugal and green plans. I am going to reread a couple of books that were particularly useful and inspiring. The Zero Waste Lifestyle, and Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover. For now though, I need to stay on track with the books I got from the library. Organizing, personal finance/budgeting, and frugal.

My advice is to find something that works for you – books, wesites, a group of friends, whatever – and check in at least a couple of times a week. It’ll keep you focused on your goals and keep whatever it is in the front of your mind. If your goal is to save money, set aside a little each week instead of all in one shot. Read books about wealth or budgeting. Look at frugal websites. If your goal is to get more eco-friendly, look at the cooperative extension (or similar) website a couple of times a week. Like a green organization or two on Facebook. Read about nature or that sort of thing. Take a walk a couple of times a week and appreciate just what it is you’re interested in saving. Whatever it is, figure out a way to keep it fresh in your mind. The more you think about it, the more likely you are to stick to making it happen.

This entry was posted in Books, Thoughts and meditations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

