Attack of the giant zucchini!

image

The larger one is a pound and a half! I didn’t count on them growing quite so much in just a couple of days. My garden is so wild that I didn’t even see one of them until it was already this size.

image

The smaller of the two zucchini is already baking away as bread, but this is my first actual harvest of more than one plant. I decided when I planted that I was going to be a true gardener and have the hat and basket (I already had the boots) to harvest in. Yes, I’m a dork. The darling basket was $2.00 at my local harvest stand!

image

image

My darling older son, in his pajamas, shelling peas. He loved it! In a few days we might have enough to steam for a side dish. My younger son on the other hand, thinks zucchini and peas are, “gross!” He’s happily eating animal crackers on the couch after helping me make the beginnings of the bread. He stirred the flour mixture but as soon as he saw the actual insides of the zucchini, he retreated in haste. 🙂 

The poor garden took a beating in a storm we had a couple of days ago. The top to the kids’ sandbox ended up in the middle of the garden. It knocked my peas off their perch and flattened a zucchini plant. The tomatoes all fell over as well. But, so far everything seems to have survived. It all seems to be bent but not broken.

Good dirt makes all the difference. I have already harvested more than I did last year even though I used Miracle Gro soil. Organic gardening rocks, and I am a convert forever.

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Attack of the giant zucchini!

  1. frugoal says:

    Looks like some good eats!

  2. lizard100 says:

    I’ve learned to pick these very fast. Several small is a good idea. If you’ve got a couple of plants they come thick and fast.

  3. Aren’t you impressed with your harvests?!! You go, girl!

  4. Let the zucchini joy begin! Tip: If you don’t want to eat your tiny harvest of peas immediately, pop them (shelled) in a freezer baggie, and top up as you go. When it’s full, you can make a meal for the family.

    • Ooohh, that’s a good tip! I was wondering how to keep them fresh. Thank you. My parents have requested zucchini bread when I go visit them in a month so I am going to make that today. This is so exciting!

  5. alderandash says:

    Organic growing does rock! I’d never really thought much about soil, but the more I find out the more amazing I find it! Just looking after the soil makes such a difference. Garden Centres sell so many ‘amendments’ but just making home-compost, adding fallen leaves etc all makes such a difference. Happy growing!

Leave a Reply

