It’s scorching outside today. 90-some degrees. Summer is almost upon us. Spring didn’t seem to last very long.

I bought a cookbook the other day from the used bookstore, Sundays at Moosewood Restaurant. This thing is huge. To give you an idea, it’s around 700 pages of just recipes, divided by country or region of origin. What makes this cookbook special is that every recipe is vegetarian. Apparently this restaurant opened in 1973 and every Sunday does an experimental menu from some exotic (or familiar) locale. From Eastern Europe to Finland, Japenese to Jewish, Africa to New England, it’s all in there. I can’t say that I’m going to try every recipe in there, but I will certainly be looking for new ways to use zucchini once my crop comes in.

I’ve been scouring the little used bookstore where I have all those trade-in credits. I bought a field guide to grasses, a guide to growing fruit and nut trees from the 1990’s (so chemicals are evident but there’s good general information), books on organizing, and all kinds of great stuff. I’ve been gorging myself on non-fiction. It’s lovely. I love used bookstores because they have a smaller selection than major retailers. It allows you to look at all of the titles in your field of interest and maybe discover some that you wouldn’t have had you been looking just in the microsection of management instead of the broader buisness heading that used stores have.

I recommend shopping at used bookstores, especially for cookbooks. They are ridiculously expensive new, and there are hidden gems that have fallen out of favor, what with the new styles of cooking that are popping up every few days now.

This entry was posted in Books, saving money, shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

