Magical mystery garden

Sorry for not being around, I’ve had a busy several days at work. My garden is getting exciting. I have flowers on what I think are zucchini vines

image

and a big ol’ shady plant whose identity eludes me.

image

Maybe it’s cucumber? I could just look it up, but where’s the fun in that? I know what everything else is and this almost has to be cucumbers, but I’ve never seen a cucumber plant so I can’t be positive. It’ll be fun to see what comes in.

Speaking of that…

image

One of my tomatoes is almost ripe! With more on the way! This is an exciting growing season.

I know, I’ve been talking a lot about my garden and sharing pictures like it’s my kid. In my defense, in 4 years or more of trying, this is my first successful attempt. Last year I got two tomatoes and 4 pea pods with two peas in each. Sad. This year is spectacular and I’m obsessed and thrilled. I’ve had bad soil that I didn’t know how to make better, and not watered them properly, and generally acted like a plant hospice rather than a nursery. This year I had soil trucked in, have been watering almost every day, and have generally cared for the plants in a way that I hadn’t before. I am invested in these suckers! And they are thriving. Very gratifying. By next Spring I should have my own compost to dig into the soil in my boxes and will hopefully be selfsufficient after that.

This is old hat to many of you, but I am giddy with success. Forgive a proud gardener’s ramblings. 

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Magical mystery garden

  1. You go, girl! Isn’t it FUN? I think you might have your photos backwards. First photo looks like cukes and the shady plant with BIG leaves is probably your zucchini. If you’ve got any oak leaves leftover from winter, or old newspaper, you could put that on the soil under the cukes to keep bugs from crawling out of the soil and biting into your cukes. Make those bugs work a little harder to get to the goods! Plus, the leaves/newspaper will help retain moisture in the soil.

  2. bmary says:

    Looks better than my garden! Mine is mostly weeds right now! You deserve to be proud. Did you know you can eat zucchini flowers? They make a fun addition to a salad!

Leave a Reply

