Night

It’s 8:00 at night and I’m sitting in my pajamas on my back deck drinking decaf coffee and admiring my garden and writing. I cannot imagine a more relaxing way to spend an evening. I took a long, hot bath when I got home from work. Now I’m just waiting for my boys to get home (any minute now) and it will be complete.

Ah, the chaos has come home.

I had to go inside, but it was worth it to have my 5 year old on my lap and my 8 year old snuggled up next to me while watching Phineas and Ferb. Now we’re off to read Frog and Toad (lovely, gentle little children’s stories) and the young one is off to sleep. Quiet reading time with the elder to calm his little ADHD head, and it’s time for him to drift off. I’ll be up for a while yet I think, but that’s ok. I may head back outside to look at the stars.

It has been a lovely, gentle night and I am grateful for it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

