How do you decide?

One of the things that a couple of the money books I’ve read lately have emphasized is making your money work toward your goals and values. They describe people who have become financially independent and are working or volunteering where their passions lie while supporting that vision with their spending. It’s amazing.

My only question is, how do you choose just one cause? I couldn’t even settle on one for this blog, it’s Green and Thrifty! I am a feminist and interested in women’s rights and ending violence against women both here and abroad. I am a budding environmentalist who believes in both the smaller, individual eco-friendliness, and saving the larger environment. I want to help alleviate povery. I want to provide clean water and food to people who don’t have access to it. I want to bring science to those countries who rely on superstition and bad information (burning witches and not understanding or caring about the prevention of disease). I want food safety. I want to educate people about money and thrift. I want to oppose racism and bigotry. I want to spread information about organic gardening and the harmful effects of certain chemicals on people and the environment.

Given all of that, how does one choose just one cause or set of values to support? Do I give a year to each, and then rotate? Do I just pick one and go? Do I try several organizations until I find the right fit? What of all the other important things that I’m ignoring if I choose just one? Maybe I start my own organization?

Right now I am still in the getting out of debt phase, but this worries me. I am, after all, a worrier by nature. I want to live my values but how do you pick just one?

This entry was posted in Thoughts and meditations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do you decide?

  1. bmary says:

    Hmm…that’s an interesting thought! I’ve never really given much thought to what I would dedicate my time and money to if I could afford it. When times are good, I try to be a good tipper, spend a little extra on my friends and family, I try to be generous. But if I had resources, like serious resources, I don’t know what I would do. Something to think about, indeed!

Leave a Reply

