Wants

image

This is a big one. Having been a spendthrift, I have stuff. So now, trying to become frugal, I don’t feel the need for anything much except food, the occasional book, and whatever new Marvel movie is out on Blu Ray. (We’ll recoup the cost by watching it 75 times) I’m getting better about needless shopping – much better – and I’ve started a grocery budget. We’re getting there.

But here’s the thing… I still want stuff. But now I’m willing to wait a while for it. And I don’t want the stupid little stuff anymore. I don’t need a smartphone. I don’t need a new computer even though our old one died and we’re using an old laptop as our primary computer. When we do finally get a new computer, it doesn’t have to be the top of the line. We don’t use it for graphics or really intense gaming after all. What I want are the more substantial things. Land, an old, beat up truck to use for hauling things, chickens. Things that are going to be all the sweeter for having to wait for them. There’s something I never thought I’d say!

I will never be Thoreau. Even he wasn’t what the legends say. He was only out there, living on Walden Pond for a matter of months, he couldn’t be totally self-sufficient and do without bartering or paying for things like he set out to do, and he went back to his old life right after. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all about the experiment, I just don’t want mine to be as extreme or as short-lived. I want mine to turn into a way of life. All honor to Thoreau for showing the way and writing beautifully about it though.

Yes, my latest urge is to be a homesteader. Not for any other reason than to live softly on the land, and give my family the healthiest life I can. Who knows how I’ll do, but I’d like to at least give it a try. The worst that happens is we end up with a patch of land to call our own that the kids can run wild on. Gee, what a shame. 😉  There are a few years and a lot of research between here and there though.

So, my wants aren’t exactly inexpensive, but they are fewer than they once were. I don’t need the latest and greatest gadget or doohickey. I’m willing to wait for things now when I never was before. That’s at least a step in the right direction.

This entry was posted in Environment, Minimalism, saving money and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wants

  1. Having been laid off during the second great depression (I forget what name they call it – the Great Recession?) and becoming the long term unemployed, I now look at purchasing as supporting corporate america and I don’t feel they deserve it. Most Americans are in a financial pickle because jobs were sent overseas. Even jobs you wouldn’t think of like secretaries. So I tend to think “harder” about letting my money slip through my fingers. And I kinda laugh at corporate america because there won’t be any new cars in my future. I’m all for your back-to-the-land dream because even if you don’t embrace ALL of it, you will embrace what makes sense for you. Maybe a vegetable garden and canning, a little soap making, some chickens…

    • I understand. And I agree to a certain extent. I will embrace as much of my dream as I can/as I find I want. Corporate America is out for profit. As soon as you realize that it makes dealing with them easier. You can each understand where the other is coming from. Some dealings with it are inevitable but, like you, I can minimize them.

Leave a Reply

