Murphy’s Law

Spring Break! With a ton of homework and snow still on the ground.

Our furnace broke last night and filled the house with smoke as the motor overheated and the blower wasn’t working. Remember how we dipped into savings to pay off the car rather than wait a couple of months and finish paying it off slowly? Yeah. Not our best idea maybe. Now our emergency fund is depleted when we actually need it. So, into debt we go. In a couple of months we’ll have the emergency fund back up and will be able to start in on paying down the other car. This just adds that much more to the credit card bill we’re going to have to pay last. Poop. Lesson learned. At least we have heat back. Here’s hoping it didn’t totally kill off my plant starts.

This week has been a mixed bag. Paid off a car, went into debt for the furnace. Spring Break, tons of homework and studying to do. Snow day on monday, therefore we’re moving very quickly through our classes and it’s getting harder to keep up. Ugh. Here’s hoping next week will be better. Books to read and I need to study the heck out of my Spanish.

Ok, enough complaining. Sorry for throwing myself a little pity party. I’m on Spring Break and we have heat. The family is together and well fed and sheltered. Life is good. We’ll figure the rest out. We know better than deplete the emergency fund for anything other than an emergency. We keep on learning as we go.

On a side note, my husband has told me seven times today that he’s wearing two pairs of socks. It’s his way of emphasizing how cold it is. I’ve kept count. I’m hoping for ten before we go to bed.  😀

This entry was posted in Money and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Murphy’s Law

  1. bmary says:

    Ugh, sorry to hear about your furnace. That is no fun! As I am semi new to the house owning thing, I have yet to experience such fun! Although we desperately need a new fence, that’s not nearly as bad as a furnace! You’ll get your fund back up in no time, I’m sure! 🙂

  2. Linda Murray says:

    Oh, I feel your pain! But don’t beat yourself up for using your emergency fund to pay off the car. It’s all a balancing act (or maybe a juggling act!). You had the available credit to weather this emergency. A lot of people are not that fortunate. You’re doing great! Keep it up. You’ll be debt-free and have a nice little safety cushion saved up in no time.

    • Thanks. I know I’m in a great position and way luckier than a lot of people. I just needed to whine a little bit. 🙂 We’ll be back to where we need to be in no time, like you said. We’re headed in the right direction at least!

  3. Just curious … Why are you paying off the cars first when the credit card probably has higher interest?

Leave a Reply

