My environmentalism

It’s funny, I don’t generally go outside much. Given my ‘druthers, I’d stay inside, curled up on the couch, reading a book. But when I do go out, I invariably feel better. Fresh air freshens my outlook and my attitude. When I decided that nature was something I cared about, it was a bit of a surprise to me. I am generally an ‘in my head’ sort of girl rather than an ‘out and about’ sort. However, I love science. I love reading about all the newly discovered species and the proofs of evolution in action. I love cosmology and microbiology. I know a very little about an awful lot of different kinds of science. So many of the things I love come back to nature and our search for more information about it.

In addition to an interest in science, there is the issue of clean air and water. So many people in the world – in developed and underdeveloped nations alike – have these issues as a real concern. There’s the issue of energy independence – going back to my love of all things political. There is the purely practical issue of saving money – who doesn’t love that?

Environmentalism, for me, is about people, strangely. Making sure that people have the ability to keep learning and exploring and innovating, solving basic human survival issues, living in ways that are healthy and sustainable, making suee evryone has the chance to grow and thrive.

I know, it’s a little weird that I’m so concerned with the welfare of people when people are destroying nature, but I believe we’re all part of the same big system. To help people create sustainable environments for themselves helps keep nature healthy. When people can sustain their lifestyles indefinitely, they are using renewable resources instead of finite ones. They are living in harmony with the world around them. Ideally, they don’t have to worry about clean air, water, and food. That’s a big ideal. That’s what I’m hoping for and want to work towards someday. We are a part of nature, not separate from and above it. We need to figure out how to ensure that people as well as the natural world are taken care of.

Ok, off my soapbox.

This entry was posted in Environment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

