An almost victory

This may seem like a no brainer, but I just started patching the holes in clothes. Prior to this my little spendthrift self would toss a shirt or a pair of pants that had a hole – it was from the thrift store after all, what did it matter, right? Well, I discovered the wonders of Stitch Witchery (a fusible fabric) and went to town.

My older son is old enough now that his pants have a chance of wearing out before he grows out of them. One pair had holes in both the knees. What with it being winter, I decided he didn’t need ventilation. So, off to the fabric store I go. No coupon (d’oh) because it was a spur of the moment decision and I needed so little of the stuff. I wasn’t even sure what it was called or where I could find it, I just knew something like it existed. I walked into the fabric store and asked the helpful lady where the iron-on stuff that let you use your own fabric was. I sounded like the newbie I am. She kindly showed me what I was looking for  and told me that it was even on sale. Yay! Since it was a good sale I decided to get a yard of the stuff. That’s a lot of patches. She measured it out and cut it for me. On the yard of fabric there was a one inch tear along one edge. I can totally work around that. She gave me another 20% off. Whoo-hoo! My lack of planning paid off this time – I wouldn’t’ve been able to use a coupon on a sale item anyway – but I will try to be better prepared in the future.

That’s the one drawback to not having a data plan for my phone (one of the things we cut out to save money – I was only using it to look at facebook anyway), I can’t just pull up a coupon at a moment’s notice. Ah well.

So, home I trip, roll of wonderful iron on Witchery in my hand. In the donation bag I found a pair of jeans that my younger son has grown out of and, thrifty girl that I’m becoming, cut patches for the older son’s jeans out of the leg of the outgrown pair. Off I go to the iron. After reading the directions, everything seems straightforward. I do what it says, adding extra time to the heating becuase it’s thick denim. The patch stayed on! Yay me!

The next day my son wears his freshly patched jeans proudly to school. Over the course of the day he plays with the edges of the patches (silly me, I patched them on the outside) until, by the end of the day, they have completely come off. When I pick him up, he sheepishly hands me the sad, limp patches. My first try was not a success after all.

So, this time I’m going to patch them on the inside where he can’t play with them. He’ll still have the ever popular hole-in-the-knee look, but they won’t get worse and he won’t feel a breeze every time he wears them. I’ll let you know how it goes. In the meantime, I’ve had much better success sewing up the holes in the back collar of a sweater and the toe of one of my socks. I’m not a master seamstress but I can sew a straight stitch and have it come out OK if it’s a short project. I get impatient hand sewing longer projects and my stitches start to get wider and wider as I go. So far the sewn bits are holding up. I may end up having to stitch the patches on my son’s pants. If that’s the case I’m going to try and get creative and stitch monster faces in them to keep me entertained. Even if they don’t hold up until the little one grows into them, I will smile every time I see them. Maybe the Batman symbol on one and Superman on the other? What do you think? Nothing too complicated since I’m not much of an artist. We’ll see how the patches on the inside work out first.

This entry was posted in clothes, saving money and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

